Breaking News

17 Opposition Leaders at Sonia’s Lunch

With the role of Pranab Mukherkee coming to an end on July 25th as the president of India and the elections are expected to be conducted in regards to this, saw some 17 opposition leaders attending the lunch party hosted by opposition leader Sonia Gandhi.

The point of discussion during the meet is to oppose the candidate that would be proposed by the ruling NDA Govt, if there is no acceptable consensual nominee.

The event saw one major leader missing who is none other than Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Leaders from Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Smaj Party, Trinamool Congress, JDU, RJD, CPI, CPI-M,SP,JMM,IUML,JD-S,AIUDF, DMK were present which includes West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Sitaram Yechury, Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav, Sharad Pawar, Lalu Prasad, Kanimozhi, Sharad Yadav, P K Kunhalikutty, K C Tyagi, Prem Chand Gupta, Hemant Soren, Sanjiv Kumar,  S Puttaraju, Badruddin Ajmal and N K Premchandran.

Manmohan Singh, A K Antony, Mallikarjuna Kharge, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ahmed Patel were present alongside Sonia & Rahul Gandhi  from the Congress. 

A joint statement was issued after the end of the meet which read “This has not happened so far. If acceptable consensual candidates do not emerge, then we (opposition parties) shall decide to field such persons who shall steadfastly defend the Constitutional values of our Republic.”

“The opposition parties also expressed concern over the prevailing grave situation in Jammu and Kashmir,” the statement also said.

“Its only achievement is that it has set the Pakistan flag fluttering in Kashmir for the first time after independence,” Lalu Prasad Yadav said.

About Admin


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top