Breaking News

255 political parties delisted by the Election Commission

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has decided to delisted two hundred and fifty five political parties today as these parties have not fought a single national, state or a local body election for the last 11 years, .i.e. since 2005. The ECI believes that these political parties are just fronts for laundering money and avoiding taxes. The ECI does not have the power to take action against these parties for the financial irregularities and hence has asked the Central Board for Direct Taxes (CBDT) to take action against them.

The ECI has taken back the symbol allotted to these political parties, some of whom have given bogus details like their address. This was done in accordance with the Section 29A of the Representation of People Act 1951. A party, the All India Progressive Janata has given its party office’s address as that of the residence of the Union Home Minister, another party – the Pavitra Hindusthan has given its office address as that of the Jammu and Kashmir CID office, while the Akhil Bhartiya Dastakar Morcha and the Rashtriya Yuva Loktantrik Party have given their address as the lawyers chambers 187 and 461 of the Patiala House Courts.

These are just a few parties who have violated the rules openly, but there are many parties which may have followed all the rules and still be trying to evade taxes and launder money. Weeding out such parties may be difficult, but with the rules being pushed by banks after demonetization, it may be very difficult to continue to break the law.


About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top