Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Tuesday , 22 January 2019
Breaking News

BJP creates history; wins most seats in Shimla Municipal elections

Newspatrolling: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has created history by winning the most number of seats in the Shimla Municipal elections. It has grabbed 17 seats out of the total 34 seats in the Shimla municipality. With this, the BJP has successfully ended the 26 year dominance of the Congress party. It may be recalled that the Congress party had been winning the Shimla municipal elections for 26 years in a row. Earlier, there was no other party to challenge Congress, but with the strong emergence of BJP, things have changed all across India.

With 17 seats, the BJP is however still one seat short of majority. The majority required is 18. Nonetheless, it is expected that BJP will be able to constitute the new civic body with the help of one of the independent candidates. Three seats have been won by independent candidates in Shimla municipal polls. It may be recalled that BJP had fielded 34 candidates, Congress 27 and CPI-M 22 candidates. BJP won 17 seats, Congress 12, CPI-M 1 and independent candidates 4 seats. Nearly 52,000 people had come out to vote out of the total 91,000 electorate in Shimla.

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top