Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Friday , 19 July 2019
Breaking News

‘Cross voting’ in the Presidential Election highlights a divided Congress: BJP

Announcing the results, Lok Sabha Secretary General and returning officer Anoop Mishra said yesterday that Kovind got 2930 votes valued 7, 02,044 and Meira Kumar got 1844 votes valued 3, 67,314.

Reportedly, approximately 100 MLAs and MPs cross-voted in favour of Kovind in the president polls conducted on July 17 across the nation.

Kovind’s overall vote value was 661 more than the assured value of 701,382, comprising lawmakers from the NDA and some opposition parties. In contrast, Kumar’s total vote value stood at 367,314.

Asserting that the cross-voting in the recently concluded Presidential election shows lack of unity in the Congress party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday said that all political leaders who wished for the better of the nation, have voted for President-elect Ram Nath Kovind.

BJP leader Vishwas Sarang said large-scale cross-voting exposed the vulnerability of the opposition camp.

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top