Breaking News

Five Trinamool leaders file nomination for RS election

Kolkata, July 26 (IANS) Five Trinamool Congress leaders on Wednesday filed their nomination papers from West Bengal for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

Party’s Chief National Spokesperson Derek O’Brien, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy and Dola Sen were among the five Trinamool Congress candidates filing their papers.

Former West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee President Manas Bhunia, who had joined Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress in last September, also filed his nomination.

Apart from them, former Gorkha National Liberation Front leader from Darjeeling hills Santa Chetri, who had joined Trinamool, was also among the party’s candidates.

After filing of nominations by the candidates, party’s Secretary General Partha Chatterjee told reporters: “Our party supremo Mamata Banerjee is an inspiration for us. She is fighting for the rights of the people, not only in Bengal but in entire India. Our candidates will strengthen her voice in favour of the people in the Rajya Sabha.”

The elections will be conducted for the six Rajya Sabha seats from the state on August 8.

Post Source: Ians feed

About Admin


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top