Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Monday , 21 January 2019
Breaking News

Gujarat Rajya Sabha election : Ahmed Patel wins 44 votes, retains RS seat

Veteran Congress leader Ahmed Patel late on Tuesday night retained his Rajya Sabha seat from Gujarat by winning 44 votes, after the Election Commission ruled in the Congress’s favour and invalidated the votes of two rebel Congress MLAs who showed their ballots to BJP president Amit Shah.

At this juncture, the BJP tried to stall the counting of votes, already delayed by over six hours, but couldn’t stop Patel from retaining his Rajya Sabha seat.

BJP president Amit Shah and union minister Smriti Irani also won in the Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections.

“Truth has won and ego has suffered defeat. BJP’s claims were proved hollow”, says Congress leader R.S. Surjewala on Ahmed Patel’s victory.

“Don’t agree with the EC’s decision. In coming days we will fight a legal battle and will get justice,” says Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani on Gujarat Rajya Sabha election results.

Congress workers gather outside party headquarters in Delhi to celebrate Ahmed Patel’s victory.



Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top