Breaking News

Harmanpreet, Deepti in Mithali-led ICCÂ’s World Cup team

Dubai, July 24 (IANS) Indian women’s team captain Mithali Raj was named skipper of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 team with all-rounders Harmanpreet Kaur and Deepti Sharma in the side, the International Cricket Council announced on Monday.

Mithali led from the front, scoring 409 runs in the tournament to power the Women-in-Blue to the final, which they lost by a mere nine runs against England at the Lord’s on Sunday.

Among others, the ICC side has four English players, including Player of the Tournament Tamsin Beaumont, Player of the Final Anya Shrubsole, wicket-keeper Sarah Taylor and left-arm spinner Alex Hartley; three from South Africa, including opener Laura Wolvaardt and bowlers Marizanne Kapp and Dane van Niekerk; and Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry.

England’s Natalie Sciver, who scored 369 runs and took seven wickets, was chosen as the 12th player.

Mithali Raj, Sarah Taylor and Anya Shrubsole have been picked in the Team of the Tournament for the second time in their careers.

Mithali and Sarah were selected in the Team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2009, which England won in Sydney in 2009, while Shrubsole was named in the Team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013, which Australia won in India in January/February 2013.

Post Source: Ians feed

About Admin


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top