Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Wednesday , 24 April 2019
Breaking News

Hockey India announces Indian Men’s Hockey Team for the 17th Asian Games 2014

mens hockey team

New Delhi, 4 September 2014: Hockey India today announced the 16 member Indian Men’s Hockey team for the 17th Asian Games 2014, scheduled to take place at Incheon, South Korea from 19September – 4 October 2014.

The team of 16 players for the 17th Asian Games 2014 was selected by Hockey India selectors Mr. B P Govinda, Mr. Harbinder Singh, Dr. R P Singh and Mr. Arjun Halappa alongwith Director High Performance Mr. Roelant Oltmans and Chief Coach Mr. Terry Walsh on the basis of their performance in the recently concluded XX Commonwealth Games 2014, Bangladesh tour and selection trials conducted at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi on 11 August 2014.

Midfielder Sardar Singh(191 caps) will be leading the team as the Captain while goalkeeper P R Sreejesh (106 caps) will be seen as the Vice-Captain of the team.

India will be seen playing their first match in the Asian Games 2014 against Sri Lanka on 21 September 2014 which will be followed by clashes against Oman on 23 September 2014, the most awaited match against Pakistan on 25 September 2014 and China on 27September 2014. Pocketing a Bronze medal finish in the 2010 Asian Games at Guangzhou, India will now be looking to better the results in this season.

While the preparatory camp is witnessing some hard and rigorous sessions at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi from 10 August 2014, the team is scheduled to depart for South Korea for the 17th Asian Games on 12 September 2014.

Speaking on the team’s current form, Chief Coach, Terry Walsh said, “The whole team is fit and are all charged up for the challenge of the Asian Games 2014. The XX Commonwealth Games’ outing with Silver medal finish has really motivated the team and they are ready to deliver even better results in the upcoming Asian Games.”

He further added, “There are good teams in our pool alongwith the 2010 Asian Games’ gold medalists Pakistan. We will be playing our first match against Sri Lanka and are looking at a positive start to the tournament. The focus of the team will be on one match at a time and will be progressing step by step for a clean sweep in the pool matches.”

List of Players-


1- P R Sreejesh (106 Caps) Vice-Captain


2- Gurbaj Singh (170 Caps)
3-  Birendra Lakra (77 Caps)
4-  Rupinder Pal Singh (95 Caps)
5-  Kothajit Singh (77 Caps)
6-  V R Raghunath (166 Caps)


7- Dharamvir Singh (81 Caps)
8-  Sardar Singh (191 Caps) Captain
9-  Danish Mujtaba (117 Caps)
10- Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (58 Caps)
11- Manpreet Singh (103 Caps)


12- Ramandeep Singh (17 Caps)
13- Akashdeep Singh (47 Caps)
14- S V Sunil (143 Caps)
15- Gurwinder Singh Chandi (103 Caps)
16- Nikkin Thimmaiah (17 Caps)

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top