Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Saturday , 25 May 2019
Breaking News

Hockey India Announces the Indian Men Hockey Squad for Australian Tour

New Delhi, 24 October 2014: Post bagging the gold medal at the 17th Asian Games, the Indian Men Hockey Squad gears up to play test series against Australia in preparation for the upcoming FIH Champions Trophy 2014, scheduled to take place in Bhubaneswar, India from 06-14 December 2014. Hockey India today announced the 21 member squad for the Australian tour.

The Indian National Men Hockey Squad is set to depart for the Australian Tour on 29 October 2014, the team will be seen training and playing the ‘four-match test series’ against Australia Men National Team from 30 October 2014 till 10 November 2014 at the Perth Hockey Stadium, Australia including. India will also play one training game against Australia A on 1 November 2014.

The 21 member squad for the Australian Tour was selected by Hockey India selectors Mr. B P Govinda, Mr. Harbinder Singh and Mr. Arjun Halappa alongwith Chief Coach Mr. Terry Walsh, Coach Jude Felix and Physiotherapist Jince Thomas Mathew on the basis of their performance in the recently concluded 17th Asian Games 2014 in Incheon and selection trials conducted at at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi on 16 October 2014.

Led by Captain Sardar  Singh (197 Caps) and P R Sreejesh (112 Caps) as the Vice Captain, the Indian Men Hockey Squad is determined to outshine Australia in the test series as the players are seen practicing rigorously at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi from 15 October 2014 to improve their game play and outperform the World Champions Australia.

Speaking on wishing the team for the tour, Hockey India President, Dr. Narinder Batra said, “Playing against Australia will be an exciting clash and am sure both the teams will strive to put on their best efforts and will display an excellent show against each other. What will go in our benefit will be the performance that the team showcased both in the Commonwealth Games as well as the Asian Games and which will be a huge motivation for the boys when they face Australia. I am proud of the team’s recent achievements and wish them all the best hoping a yet another hard earned win in the upcoming Australian Tour.”

Schedule of the Australian Series- 

Match Date Local Time Indian Time Team
1 04 November 2014 1900 hrs 1630 hrs Vs Australian National Team
2 05 November 2014 1900 hrs 1630 hrs Vs Australian National Team
3 08 November 2014 1900 hrs 1630 hrs Vs Australian National Team
4 09November 2014 1900 hrs 1630 hrs Vs Australian National Team

List of Players-


1- P R Sreejesh (112 Caps) Vice- Captain
2- Harjot Singh (05 Caps)


3- Gurbaj Singh (176 Caps)
4- Rupinder Pal Singh (99 Caps)
5- V R Raghunath (172 Caps)
6- Briendra Lakra (83 Caps)
7- Kothajit Singh Khadangbam (83 Caps)

8- Gurjinder Singh (16 Caps)

9- Harbir Singh Sandhu (30 Caps)


10- Manpreet Singh (109 Caps)
11- S K Uthappa (54 Caps)

12- Sardar Singh (197 Caps) Captain
13- Dharamvir Singh (87 Caps)
14- Danish Mujtaba (123 Caps)
15- Satbir Singh (12 Caps) 


16- Nikkin Thimmaiah(23 Caps)
17- S V Sunil (149 Caps)
18- Mandeep Singh (40 Caps)
19- Akashdeep Singh (53 Caps)
20- Ramandeep Singh (23 Caps)

21- Lalit Upadhyay (06 Caps)

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top