Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Saturday , 24 August 2019
Breaking News

In West Bengal, 337 members vote for new President

Kolkata, July 17 (IANS) A total of 337 votes were cast on Saturday in the West Bengal assembly in the presidential polls, sources said.

All 294 MLAs along with 31 Lok Sabha members and 12 Rajya Sabha members from the state, including suspended Trinamool Congress (TMC) Rajya Sabha member Kunal Ghosh, voted here.

Two TMC Lok Sabha members, Deepak Adhikari alias Deb and Sugato Bose, and the party’s Rajya Sabha member K.D. Singh voted in Delhi.

Congress MLA Madhusudan Ghosh was hospitalised after voting as he felt sick.

A Tripura lawmaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath also voted in Kolkata as he was undergoing treatment here.

Opposition presidential nominee Meira Kumar is likely to get the bulk of the votes polled in the state as she has the backing of the three main political forces — TMC, Congress and the CPI-M.

National Democratic Alliance candidate Ram Nath Kovind has the backing of the three BJP lawmakers, the party’s two Lok Sabha members from the state and three other legislators of its alliance partner Gorkha Janmukti Morcha.

Post Source: Ians feed

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top