Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Tuesday , 23 April 2019
Breaking News

MRF Chennai TSD Rally 2014 Flagged off

MRF_TSD_Chennai_LogoIt is the grand finale of the 2014 Indian National TSD Rally Championship here in Chennai. This weekend, the best in the country battle it out in stages in Sriperumbudur, near here, for the MMSC Chennai TSD Rally. This is the ninth and final round of the 2014 INTSDRC. The nerve centre of the rally will be the Madras Motor Race Track. Total Prize Money is Rs. 3 Lakhs.

The total distance of the Rally will be 155Kms approximately and consist of just one section and is being conducted under the aegis of the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India. The documentation, scrutiny (both at the Club office) and ceremonial flag-off (AVT office, Egmore) was held yesterday, while the Rally will be on December 21. All safety and medical procedures have been followed to ensure safety of the competitors and officials.

This Rally is being conducted in the Time-Speed-Distance format. In TSD rallies, cars run at speeds that are much lower than in stage rallying. This makes it safe for anyone to participate and no modifications are needed on the vehicle. Only a valid driver’s license is needed to participate. The team that records the least penalty time at the end of the day will be the winner, said Mr. Manoj Dalal, Clerk of the Course for the event from MMSC.

The classes that will be run are Pro Expert, Pro Stock and Pro Stock for Ladies.

In the Pro Expert class, the participants can make use of digital meters to calculate, time and speed and it is the higher class. In the Pro Stock class, the participants rely on stock meters and a calculator to manually calculate the time and speed. In effect, the Pro Stock class is tougher due to the quick calculations required with minimum equipment.

Mr. Prabha Shankar,  Secretary of the Event said “The event has attracted 28 entries including 2 All Women’s team from all over India. Vehicles from different manufacturers are being used. In that, we are expecting about 12 entries for the National championship and 16 in the local classes.”

The All Women’s Teams are: 

  • Ms. Dipali Podar & Ipsita Das – Pro stock National C’ ship
  • Ms. Sheena Sabarwal & Prathiba Anand – Pro stock National C’ ship

Team Tata Motors’ Chidananda Murthy and BS Sujith Kumar, both Bangaloreans, have already wrapped up the National title in the Pro Stock category, but will still be taking part. They have won three National titles on the trot.

The real fight for the title will be in the Pro Expert category. Team Tata Motors’ Ajgar Ali (Kolkata) and Mohammad Musthafa (Erode) are leading the championship table with 148 points. Karthick Maruthi and Sankar Anand are second with 144 points. Ganesh Moorthy and T Nagarajan (Team Tata Motors) are third with 110 points.

About MMSC:

Madras Motor Sports Club is the country’s oldest and premier club and is in its 60th year of organizing motorsport events of all disciplines for all levels – club sport to international championships. Rallies conducted by MMSC have been known to enthuse motorsport lovers in Chennai and this event should be no exception.

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top