Breaking News

Not involved in EC rejecting CPI-M candidate's RS nomination: Trinamool

Kolkata, July 31 (IANS) The Trinamool Congress on Monday said that CPI-M candidate Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya’s Rajya Sabha nomination was rejected by the Election Commission in accordance with existing laws and the party has nothing to do with it.

“They were given a chance of hearing in accordance with the Representation of the People’s Act. The returning officer was also present during the hearing and discussed the matter with everyone. Then it was announced that CPI-M’s Rajya Sabha candidate’s nomination was declared as invalid by the Election Commission as it was not submitted within the stipulated time,” Trinamool Secretary General Partha Chatterjee clarified.

“How is Trinamool Congress involved in this?” he asked.

Rejecting the CPI-M’s allegation of conspiracy, Chatterjee, also state Education Minister, accused them of trying to malign the Election Commission by secretly tying up with the BJP.

“There is no conspiracy. They are trying to malign the Election Commission. Actually they had a secret understanding with the BJP before nominating a person like Bhattacharya who has never been a part of Rajya Sabha,” Chatterjee alleged.

Taking a swipe at CPI-M legislature party leader Sujan Chakraborty’s claims that the Trinamool was rattled by Bhattacharya’s candidature, Chatterjee said his party has sufficient numbers in the Rajya Sabha to ensure victory of eight party candidates.

“Why should our party be frightened? With the kind of numbers the Trinamool Congress has, we could have named eight nominees and all of them would have won,” he claimed.

The nomination of CPI-M Rajya Sabha candidate Bikash Bhattacharya was rejected on Monday, paving the way for five Trinamool Congress nominees and one from the Congress to be declared uncontested from West Bengal.

After much drama, the election authorities declared invalid Bhattacharya’s nomination, on the ground that an additional affidavit was submitted after the 3 p.m. deadline on July 28 – the last date for filing of papers for the August 8 polls for six seats.

Post Source: Ians feed

About Admin


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top