Breaking News

Telugu states vote in presidential poll

Hyderabad/Amaravati, July 17 (IANS) Polling began in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh assemblies for the country’s 14th President on Monday.

Legislators from Telangana began casting their votes at the state legislative assembly in Hyderabad while their counterparts from Andhra Pradesh were exercising their franchise at the state assembly in Amaravati.

Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao, state assembly speaker Madhusudhana Chary and leader of opposition K. Jana Reddy were among the firsts to cast their votes in Hyderabad.

Ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has already announced its support to National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind. TRS has 90 members in 119-member assembly.

Kovind was also assured support of five legislators of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and three of Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

The vote value of each MLA in Telangana is 132.

TRS held mock polling on Sunday and again on Monday morning to ensure that all its lawmakers would cast their vote perfectly.

Main opposition Congress party, which has 13 members, six legislators of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) and the lone member of Communist Party of India (Marxist) will back United Progressive Alliance (UPA) candidate Meira Kumar.

However in Andhra Pradesh, the NDA candidate is expected to get the support of all legislators as both ruling TDP-BJP alliance and lone opposition YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) have announced that they will vote for Kovind.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP national president N.A Chandrababu Naidu and assembly speaker Kodela Sivaprasada Rao were among the first to cast their votes.

This is the first time polling for presidential election is being held in Aamaravti.

In 175-member state assembly, TDP has 124 members including 21 defected from YSRCP. BJP has four legislators. Lone opposition YSRCP has 46 legislators.

Every legislator in Andhra Pradesh has a vote value of 159.

MPs from both the Telugu states were casting their votes in Parliament.

Post Source: Ians feed

About Admin


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top