Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Tuesday , 20 August 2019
Breaking News

Voting for 10 Rajya Sabha seats on August 8

New Delhi, July 14 (IANS) The Election Commission on Friday announced voting on August 8 for 10 Rajya Sabha seats, including nine from Gujarat and West Bengal whose incumbents’ terms are coming to an end next month.

By-election will be held on August 8 to fill one Rajya Sabha vacancy caused by death of then Union Environment Minister Anil Madhav Dave.

The counting for all 10 seats will be taken up on August 8.

The terms of three members from Gujarat — Union Minister Smriti Zubin Irani, Congress leader Ahmed Patel, and Bharatiya Janata Party’s Dilipbhai Pandya — will end on August 18.

The terms of six Rajya Sabha members from West Bengal — Trinamool Congress leaders Derek O’Brien, D. Bandyopadhyay, Sukhendusekar Roy, and Dola Sen, apart from Communist Party of India-Marxist leader Sitaram Yechury and Congress leader Pradip Bhattacharya — will also end on the same day.

A commission press release said the notification for the election will be issued on July 21, with July 28 as the last date for filing of nominations.

Post Source: Ians feed

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top