Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Tuesday , 26 September 2017
Breaking News

WHO and UNICEF release new estimates on water, sanitation and hygiene

Embargoed 13 July 2017: Not for publication, broadcast, or transmission before:
00.01 GMT, 02:01 CEST (Geneva time), 20:01 EST (New York time)

 
WHO, UNICEF release first global estimates for water, sanitation and hygiene for the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The Joint Monitoring Programme report, Progress on Drinking Water, Sanitation and Hygiene: 2017 Update and Sustainable Development Goal Baselines, presents the first global assessment of “safely managed” drinking water and sanitation services – meaning drinking water free of contamination that is available at home when needed, and toilets whereby excreta are treated and disposed of safely.
 
According to the report, billions of people have gained access to basic drinking water and sanitation services since 2000, but these services do not necessarily provide safe water and sanitation. Many homes, healthcare facilities and schools also still lack soap and water for handwashing – putting people’s health at risk for diseases, such as diarrhoea.

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top
badge