Breaking News

2019 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Interesting Facts

The cricket World Cup begins today on May 30, 2019, and just like all earlier tournaments, the excitement is super high for cricket fans and participating nations. This time the World Cup matches will be held in England and Wales and will continue for a period of around one and a half months. As the cricket fever rises on and off the field, here are some interesting facts about 2019 cricket World Cup that will surprise you.

No quarter finals: This time around, there will not be any quarter finals. A total of 10 teams are participating – India, New Zealand, England, Pakistan, Australia, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, South Africa, Bangladesh and West Indies. In the round-robin stage, all teams will play against each other once. Based on points, the final four will be selected and these teams will directly enter the semi-final stage. The finals will be held on July 14 at Lord’s (London).

Perfect 10: This is the first time that exact 10 teams are participating in the cricket World Cup. In earlier tournaments, total teams were either less or more than 10. Between 1975 and 1987, total participating teams were 8. This increased to 9 in 1992 and reached 12 in 1996 and 1999 world cups. The participating countries numbered 14 in 2003, 16 in 2007, 14 in 2011 & 2015 and now 10 in 2019.

No associate teams: In 2019 cricket World Cup, there is no Associate Member or non-full member. In all earlier World Cup tournaments, the participation of associate members and non-full members has been a key feature of these events. Countries that have earlier played in the World Cup as associate members include East Africa, Sri Lanka, Canada, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, Kenya, UAE, Namibia, Bermuda, Ireland, Scotland and Afghanistan.

Disqualified full members: This time, even some Full Members have failed to qualify. In 2019 cricket World Cup, Full Member nations Ireland and Zimbabwe have failed to qualify. This is the first time in cricket World Cup history that at least one Full Member has failed to qualify.

First day-night match in England: The country has hosted four Cricket World Cups till date, but it has never conducted a day-night World Cup match before 2019. England has hosted World Cup championships in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999. A total of 94 World Cup matches were held in England, but all of these were day matches. In 2019, England and Wales will host seven day-night matches.

Chasing champions: Countries should be wary of defending champions Australia, as they have never lost a World Cup match since 1999 while batting second. Since 1999, Australia has batted second in 18 World Cup matches and has won all of them.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top