Breaking News

BJP appoints its top guns for upcoming assembly elections in Gujarat and Karnataka

With its eye on the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP has started preparations for the forthcoming assembly elections. BJP has selected its top guns to manage the assembly elections in various states. For Gujarat, the BJP has chosen Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley to take charge of assembly polls in the state. HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar has been made in-charge of Karnataka assembly elections. A co-in charge has also been appointed for Karnataka assembly elections and it will be Power Minister Piyush Goyal. Assembly elections in both Gujarat and Karnataka will be held in 2018. The tenure of the existing government in Gujarat will come to an end on January 22, 2018. The tenure of Karnataka government will end on May 28, 2018.

BJP president Amit Shah has chalked out an aggressive plan for Gujarat. He has asked party leaders and workers to start working hard to ensure more than 150 seats in the 182-seat assembly in Gujarat. In Karnataka, BJP chief BS Yeddyurappa would be presented as the chief ministerial candidate for BJP. While BJP may have a smooth ride in Gujarat, the same could not be said about Karnataka since the Congress has a strong base in Karnataka. Yeddyurappa had helped BJP win in 2008, but he had to resign after corruption charges were slapped against him.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top