Breaking News

BJP dislodges Congress in Uttarakhand; wins 57 seats out of 70

In Uttarakhand, it was a straight fight between BJP and Congress, and now that the results are out, BJP has emerged as an undisputed winner, securing 57 seats in the 70-member Uttarakhand assembly. According to experts, the BJP has performed unexpectedly well in Uttarakhand since it was predicted that both the parties may go neck and neck in Uttarakhand.

The final tally in Uttarakhand is as follows:

  • BJP – 57
  • INC – 11
  • OTHERS – 2
  • UKD – 0

Meanwhile, existing Chief Minister Harish Rawat of Congress has accepted defeat and has tendered his resignation to Governor Krishna Kant Paul. Rawat also accepted that it must have been some leadership issues that led to the party’s dismal performance in Uttarakhand. “I accept and take responsibility for Congress’s defeat in Uttarakhand, there must have been few lapses in our leadership,” said Rawat. Rawat had contested from 2 seats in Uttarakhand – Haridwar (rural) and Kiccha, but he has lost from both the seats, which is depressing news for him and his party.

It is also interesting to note that Uttarakhand continues to maintain its legacy of voting out the incumbent government in every successive election. Throughout its political history, no political party has won successive terms in Uttarakhand.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top