Breaking News

Bureaucratic reshuffle: Sunil Arora is the new Election Commissioner; Mehrishi gets CAG

The central government carried out a major bureaucratic reshuffle today, which many experts say may be linked to the upcoming state and general elections. IAS officer Sunil Arora has been appointed as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC). Arora is a 1980 batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre. He has earlier worked in various ministries and departments such as Finance, Textiles and Planning Commission. He had also held the post of Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Civil Aviation and CMD of Indian Airlines. 

Former home secretary Rajiv Mehrishi has been appointed as the Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG). Mehrishi was earlier the union home secretary, but after his term ended today, he was replaced with Rajiv Gauba. Sunil Arora will be replacing Nasim Zaidi, who retired as the Chief Election Commissioner in July this year. At present, Achal Kumar Joti is the CEC whereas Om Prakash Rawat is Election Commissioner. Arora’s appointment will be applicable from the day he assumes office. Earlier, Arora was working as the Information and Broadcasting Secretary, and Secretary in the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

Other bureaucrats have also been reshuffled. Senior bureaucrat Rajiv Kumar has been appointed as the secretary in the Department of Financial Services (DFS) whereas Anita Karwal has been appointed as the CBSE chairperson. 17 other IAS officers have also been reshuffled by the central government.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top