Breaking News

Congress loses one more MLA in Gujarat; total 7 in last 10 days

Even though congress’ Ahmed Patel was able to get himself elected to the Rajya Sabha, the party has been losing its MLAs in quick succession. In the last ten days, Congress has lost a total of 7 MLAs. The most recent leader to join the BJP is former Congress MLA Raghavji Patel. Raghavji had voted against Ahmed Patel in the Rajya Sabha elections and now he has joined the BJP. Before him, six Congress MLAs have quit the party and joined the BJP in Gujarat. Raghavji was formally inducted into BJP at a function organized in Jamnagar. Among those present were Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and state unit BJP president Jitubhai Vaghani. Raghavji had represented Jamnagar (Rural) seat prior to resigning from Congress party.

Raghavji said that one of his primary focus areas would be to resolve the reservation issue for Patidar community. He is hopeful that the BJP government would be able to resolve the reservation problem. It may be recalled that BJP had been blaming the Congress for creating the quota problem in Gujarat. BJP has also described Hardik Patel, the leader of the Patidar quota movement, as an agent of Congress. Apart from Raghavji, the six other Congress MLAs who have joined BJP in the last 10 days are Mr. Amit Chaudhary, Mr. Ramsinh Parmar, Mr. Mansinh Chauhan, Mr. Karamshi Patel, Mr. CK Raulji and Mr. Dharmendrasinh Jadeja.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top