Breaking News

Congress retains Chitrakoot seat; talks of tide tuning begins

The Congress has retained the Chitrakoot Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh in the bypoll conducted on November 9. With this, talks have begun that the tide is starting to turn against the BJP. However, political pundits said that standalone events cannot be used to predict the future. Congress had earlier also won the Chitrakoot seat and as politics goes, there are always some seats that are the stronghold of a specific political party. Moreover, the fortunes of parties keep changing, as was evident in 2008 elections, when the BJP had won the Chitrakoot seat. In today’s counting of votes, the Congress won the Chitrakoot seat by a margin of 14,133 votes. This is an improvement since in the previous election in 2013, the Congress had won the Chitrakoot seat by a margin of 10,970 votes.

Congress was represented by Nilanshu Chaturvedi, who secured 66,810 votes. In comparison, Shankar Dayal Tripathi from BJP got only 52,677 votes. The votes polled under NOTA (none of the above) were 2,455 votes. The bypoll was conducted after the death of Congress MLA Prem Singh, who had won the Chitrakoot seat in 2013. Speaking about the defeat, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister and BJP leader Shivraj Singh Chouhan said that people were the supreme decision makers in a democracy. The Congress was in a celebratory mood and its party workers raised slogans against the BJP.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top