Breaking News

Hockey India announces first ever ‘Hockey India Annual Awards’

Announces ‘Dhruv Batra Player of the Year (Men & Women)’ award for Rs.25,00,000/- each 

New Delhi, 10 November 2014: Recognized in promoting hockey as a sport both nationally as well as on the international platform, Hockey India today announced first ever ‘Hockey India Annual Awards’ for the players. The coveted award to commence from the year 2014.

Known in the sports arena for their contribution towards hockey and working dedicatedly towards the betterment of the sport as well as motivating its players in each category, Hockey India will now be seen identifying and rewarding the most promising and potent players from the current as well as upcoming teams.

Speaking on the announcement, Hockey India Secretary General Mr. Md. Mushtaque Ahmad said, “It is huge leap that we at Hockey India are preparing for. These awards are not only focused towards the welfare of the players but will ultimately help in boosting the morale of the players and motivating them to perform even better. The Hockey India family as an organisation takes pride in announcing the Hockey India Annual Awards for the Players and shall strive to take more such steps for the enhancement of the sport as well the players.”

Mr. Md. Mushtaque Ahmad added “The Hockey India Executive Board and the Indian hockey community recognize and acknowledge the major contribution that Dr. Narinder Batra in particular and his family have made to Indian hockey. Dr Batra was also recently honored internationally by being awarded the FIH Presidents award at the FIH Congress on 1 November 2014 for his role in the development and growth of hockey in India over the recent years. In remembrance of the late Mr. Dhruv Batra who expired on 29 October 2014, during the FIH Congress, the son of President, Dr Narinder Batra, the Board thought it was fitting to name the ‘Player of the Year’ awards in the category of men and women to the remarkable young man that was Mr. Dhruv Batra.”

List of Awards –

Dhruv Batra Player of the Year (Men) – Rs.25,00,000/-

Dhruv Batra Player of the Year (Women) – Rs.25,00,000/-

Upcoming Player of the Year (Men – Under 21) – Rs.10,00,000/-

Upcoming Player of the Year (Women – Under 21) – Rs.10,00,000/-

Goalkeeper of the Year – Rs.5,00,000/- 

Defender of the Year – Rs.5,00,000/- 

Midfielder of the Year – Rs.5,00,000/- 

Forward of the Year – Rs.5,00,000/- 

Award for Invaluable Contribution (For coaches and support staff) – Rs.5,00,000/- 

President Award for Outstanding Achievement – Rs.5,00,000/-

Each award will consist of a glittering trophy, certificate and cash award. The decision to announce the awards was taken today on 10 November 2014, in the 26th Meeting of the Hockey India Executive Board held in Delhi.

The 26th Meeting of the Hockey India Executive Board was Chaired by Hockey India Senior Vice President, Ms Mariamma Koshy and attended by Executive Board Members including Mr. Md. Mushtaque Ahmad (Secretary General), Mr. Rajinder Singh (Treasurer), Mr. Tapan Das, Mr. Anandeshwar Pandey, Mr. Rajeev Mehta, Mr. Hitesh Sindwani, Ms. Asha Thakur, Ms. Asunta Lakra and Dr. R.P Singh.

The awards will commence with winners for outstanding performance for the year 2014.

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top