Breaking News

Hockey India announces Indian Junior Men Hockey Team for 4th Sultan of Johor Cup 2014

New Delhi, 22 September 2014: Hockey India today announced the Indian Junior Men Hockey team for 4th Sultan of Johor Cup scheduled to take place in Johor Bahru, Malaysia from 12-19 October 2014.

The 18 member team was selected by Hockey India selectors Mr. B P Govinda, Mr. Harbinder Singh and Dr. R P Singh alongwith Mr. Harendra Singh, Coach of Junior Men Hockey Team, Mr. B J Kariappa, Coach and Mr .Vinod Kumar, Physiotherapist on the basis of the performance of 33 junior men core probables during the selection trials conducted at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi on 19-20 September 2014.

The team also boasts of names like Harjeet Singh, Imran Khan, Gurinder Singh and Jarmanpreet Singh who have to their credit of representing the Indian Men team on the International platform. Hence playing with the Senior Men team, they have learnt a lot from them and which they will aim at putting into play in the upcoming tournament.

Midfielder Harjeet Singh will lead the team for the 4th Sultan of Johor Cup while forward Imran Khan will be Vice- Captain. 

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Hockey India’s Secretary General Dr. Narinder Batra said, “The boys made us proud last year by winning the 3rd edition of the Sultan of Johor Cup and looking at their current form during the training sessions, I am confident that the 18 member team picked by selectors is ready to repeat the history.”

The 4th Sultan of Johor Cup will see a total of six teams, which includes Australia, Great Britain, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Malaysia. The classification matches and the finals of the tournament are scheduled to be played on 19 October 2014.

Defending champions India will be looking forward to retain the title this year. Facing New Zealand in the opening match on 12 October 2014, India will be going head on with Great Britain on 13 October, followed by Pakistan on 15 October, Malaysia on 16 October and Australia on 18 October 2014.

The preparatory camp for the 4th Sultan of Johor Cup is currently underway at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi since 13 September 2014 and will continue till the departure of the team on 9 October 2014.

 The match schedule of the 4th Sultan of Johor Cup is also attached herewith.

 The list of players-


1.   Abhinav Kumar Pandey

2.   Subodh Tirkey


3.   Harmanpreet Singh

4.   Jarmanpreet Singh

5.   Dipsan Tirkey

6.   Anand Lakra

7.   Varun Kumar

8.   Gurinder Singh


9.   Santa Singh

10. Sumit

11. Harjeet Singh (Captain)

12. SH. Nilkantha Sharma

13. Simranjeet Singh


14. Imran Khan (Vice-Captain)

15. Parvinder Singh

16. Pawan Kumar

17. Aarman Qureshi

18. Sumit Kumar

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top