Breaking News

Hockey India announces Indian Men Hockey Team for Hero Men’s Champions Trophy 2014

India Men Hockey Team for Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2014 at MDC National Stadium in New Delhi

New Delhi, 24 November 2014With eight top teams of the world vying for Hero Men’s Champions Trophy 2014 title, Hockey India today announced the Indian Men Hockey Team for the upcoming tournament scheduled to be held from 06-14 December 2014 in Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

Selected by eminent Hockey India selectors, Mr. Harbinder Singh, Dr. R. P. Singh, Mr. Arjun Halappa, Mr. Roelant Oltmans, Director High Performance, Mr. Jude Felix – Coach and Matthew Eyles – Scientific Advisor, the 18-member Indian Men team will be looking at continuing their winning form in the all-important Champions Trophy. The team was picked basis the selection trials conducted at MDC National Stadium, New Delhi on 18th November 2014.

With Sardar Singh (200 caps) given the onus of yet again leading the team as the captain, he will be supported by P.R. Sreejesh (115 caps) as the Vice-Captain for the team.

The selection trials were lined for 26 senior probables but because of a minor injury, Akashdeep Singh was unable to attend the same.

 India will be seen playing their first match in the Hero Men’s Champions Trophy 2014 against Germany on 6th December 2014 which will be followed by clashes against Argentina on 7th December 2014, and against Netherlands on 9th December 2014.

 Speaking on the team structure and current form, High Performance director, Roelant Oltmans said, “Team India is in superb form and after a remarkable performance in 2014 Asian Games and Test Series in Australia, we are more than confident of doing well in this tournament. The team selected has the right combination and will give a tough time to the opponents”.

List of Players:

Goal Keepers

1. P.R. Sreejesh-Vice Captain (115 Caps)

2. Harjot Singh (6 Caps) 


3. Rupinder Pal Singh (101 Caps)

4. V.R. Raghunath (176 Caps)

5. Birendra Lakra (87 Caps)

6. Kothajit Singh (87 Caps)

7. Gurbaj Singh (180 Caps)

8. Gurjinder Singh (19 Caps)


9. Manpreet Singh (112 Caps)

10. Sardar Singh – Captain (200 Caps)

11. Dharamvir Singh (90 caps)

12. Danish Mujtaba (127 Caps)

13. S.K. Uthappa (58 Caps)


14. Ramandeep Singh (26 Caps)

15. SV Sunil (153 Caps)

16. Akashdeep Singh (56 Caps)

17. Nikkin Thimmaiah (27 Caps)

18. Lalit Upadhyay (9 Caps)

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top