Breaking News

Hockey Madhya Pradesh clinches the title of the 5th Senior National Hockey Championship 2015 (Women) ‘’B’’ Division

–          Hockey Madhya Pradesh outplays Hockey Patiala 4-0; emerged as winners of the tournament

–          Hockey Bihar defeated Association of Indian University (AIU) 3-2, finishes at 3rd  place

Saifai (Uttar Pradesh), 29 April 2015: Favourites Hockey Madhya Pradesh wrapped up the tournament and defeated Hockey Patiala 4-0 to clinch the title of the 5th Senior National Hockey Championship 2015 (Women) ‘’B’’ Division at Saifai today. In the Position match, Hockey Bihar outplayed Association of Indian University by 3-2 to finish at 3rd position in the tournament.

Hockey Madhya Pradesh convincingly beat Hockey Patiala 4-0 and lifted the title of the 5th Senior National Hockey Championship 2015 (Women) ‘’B’’ Division today. Hockey Madhya Pradesh produced a clinical performance throughout the match and left no scope for Hockey Patiala to score.  Hockey Madhya Pradesh drew their first blood through Jyoti Pal who then sneaked in three goals in the 23rd, 26th and 29th minute, the first one coming from a penalty corner and the other two field goals. The score board read 3-0 in support of Hockey Madhya Pradesh before entering the second half of the game. These early jolts put Hockey Patiala on the back foot and they could not recover back. Eventually, the fourth goal was scored by Seema Verma in the 59th minute through a penalty corner which sealed the fate of the match in the favour of Hockey Madhya Pradesh.

In the 3rd / 4th Position Match, Hockey Bihar edged past Association of Indian University (AIU) by a narrow margin of 3-2 in closely-fought battle. It was Bihar who drew the first blood in the 17th minute when Nagma Khatoon entered into opponent’s half by dribbling past the defenders and hit the ball hard into the goal-post. Earning an early lead, Bihar girl Shilwanti Minjur scored a brilliant goal in the 22nd minute to increase the lead by 2-0. Controlling the match in the first two quarters, Bihar earned a crucial penalty stroke in 29th minute, which was perfectly converted by Captain Anita Sawasi to extend the lead by 3-0. In the third quarter onwards, AIU charged back on Bihar side and managed to create opportunities to score goals. In 35th minute, they managed to earn a penalty corner and that was effectively converted by AIU skipper Shivani Saini. After their first goal, AIU kept on their attacking gain and in the 58th minute, Jasreet Kaur scored the second goal for her team.  After scoring two consecutive goals, AIU still failed to score the equaliser and lost the match by 2-3 eventually.

Results of the day-

Finals -Hockey Madhya Pradesh 4 Jyoti Pal (23min-PC,26min-FG,29min-FG),Seema Verma (59min-PC) vs Hockey Patiala 0

3rd / 4th Position: Hockey Bihar 3 Nagma Khatoon (07min-FG), Shilwanti Minjur (17min-FG), Anita Sawasi (11min-PS) vs Association of Indian Universities 2 Shivani Saini (35min-PC), Jasreet Kaur (58min-FG)

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top