Breaking News

Hockey Odisha lifts the title of the 5th Junior National Hockey Championship 2015 (Men) ‘A’ Division

– Hockey Odisha edges past Hockey Punjab to beat them 4-3

– Hockey Haryana beats Hockey Haryana 3-0 to claim the 3rd position

Mysore (Karnataka), 22 April 2015Hockey Odisha team finally took the field with a victory against Hockey Punjab, 4-3 and claimed the title of the 5th Junior National Hockey Championship 2015 (Men) ‘A’’ Division. While in the hard-line match Hockey Haryana claimed the 3rd position by beating Hockey Himachal.

The Finals of the 5th Junior National Hockey Championship 2015 (Men) ‘’A’’ Division lived up to to the moment as the clash was intense and exciting and which kept the spectators at the stadium and hockey fans across India glued onto the match which was even viewed LIVE on DD Sports. It was Hockey Odisha which kept its nerves to come back into the game and win the Final by 4-3. What worked in the team’s favour were Sumit Toppo’s 3 individual goals leaving the opponents completely dented.

It was Hockey Punjab which took the initial lead in the game when in the 19th minute Harjeet Singh scored through a field goal. Hockey Odisha was quick to bounce back as they leveled the scores in the 27th minute as a field goal by Sumit Toppo bore positive results. Hockey Punjab not giving up they again took the lead in the 33rd minute as Simranjit Singh ensured a quick and clean deflection into the nets leaving the first half scores at 2-1 in their favour. Trailing the game 1-2, Hockey Odisha equalized through a penalty corner leaving Hockey Punjab stunned, coming from the stick of Prakash Barla. Hockey Odisha went one up as another penalty corner in the 48th minute was converted through a clever variation and went on to take the lead in the game 3-2. Hockey Odisha added another dent as in the 61st minute as Sumit Toppo’s dive to deflect the ball into the nets resulted in the team’s fourth goal on the opponents. Punjab looking at minimizing the goal difference successfully scored in the 68th minute coming from the stick of Ajit Pandit. But it was too late for Hockey Punjab, as Hockey Odisha won the Finals by 4-3.

Playing for the 3rd / 4th position, it was Hockey Haryana to emerge victorious against Hockey Himachal post showcasing consistent performance all through the National Championship and winning today’s all important match by 3-0. In the 11thminute, Rajant standing right in front of the goal box received a clean pass which he did not mistake it putting it past the goalkeeper and opening Hockey Haryana’s account.  The opening goal was also the sole goal of the entire first half and the half time score was 1-0 in Hockey Haryana’s favour. Right into the second half the team doubled the lead when Sahil Dabas scored a brilliant field goal. With a two goal lead, Hockey Harayana added their third goal in the 61st minute and went on to win the match 3-0. 

Results of the day

FINALS – Hockey Odisha 4 Sumit Toppo (27 min-FG48 min-PC, 61 min-FG), Prakash Barla (41 min-PC), vs Hockey Punjab 3 Harjeet Singh (19 min-FG), Simranjit Singh (33 min-FG) Ajit Pandit (68 min-FG)

3rd / 4th Position – Hockey Haryana 3 Rajant (17 min-FG), Sahil Dabas (38 min-FG), Amit (61 min-FG) vs Hockey Himachal 0

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top