Breaking News

Hyderabad blast : NIA court awards death penalty to 5 IM operatives

Five Indian Mujahideen (IM) operatives of banned terror outfit have been awarded death penalty for their involvement in 2013 Hyderabad serial-blasts by special NIA court in Hyderabad.

The NIA court convicted co-founder of the banned terrorist organisation Yasin Bhatkal, a Pakistani-national Zia-ur-Rehman, Asadullah Akhtar and Tahaseen Akhtar and Ajaz Shaikh. The five are in judicial custody and are lodged in the Cheralapally Central Prison.

Final arguments had concluded on NOvember 7 before the special NIA court.

On Feb 1,2013 18 people were killed and at least 131 suffered injuries in two deadly IED explosives carried out at Dilsukhnagar – a crowded shopping area of the city.

The court has split the trial against Riyaz Bhatkal – prime accused of the twin blast – since he is absconding.

The NIA court convicted Yasin Bhatkal and five under various sections Indian Penal Code, arms act, Unlawful Activities Prevention Act.

The court after hearing the defence and prosecution’s arguments, pronounced the quantum of sentence.

According to sleuths of NIA, Riyaz Bhatkal had arranged the explosive substances and instructed Akhtar and Rahman to receive the materials at Mangalore.

On receiving the explosive materials Akhtar and Waqas reached Hyderabad and joined Akhtar at his hideout.

They made the IEDs at their Hyderabad hideout. The two on February 1,2013 mounted the to IEDs on two cycles in separate places in Dilsukhnagar.

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top