Breaking News

India Men Captain Sardar Singh and former Women Captain Saba Anjum receive the Padma Shri Award

Hockey India congratulates both on this achievement 

Sardar Singh - Padma ShriNew Delhi, 30 March 2015: Earning another glory for Indian hockey, India Men Hockey Team captain Sardar Singh as well as the former Captain for the India Women Team, Saba Anjum today received one the most prestigious national honours – Padma Shri Award – from Honourable President Shri Pranab Mukherjee at a glittering ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan. Both Sardar as well as Saba Anjum were even conferred with the Arjuna Award in 2012 and 2013 respectively. Both the awardees have to their credit of bringing laurels to the country for their contribution on the field and even guiding their teams to victories.

The 28-year-old midfielder Sardar has played a pivotal role for India and his skilful game which has even inspired the new generation of hockey players across the world. Sardar made his debut for the senior team against Pakistan in 2006 and since then he has played more than 200 international matches and has successfully contributed towards Indian hockey. Sardar is also the most sought player in the prestigious Hockey India League.

Saba in the other hand was one of the most prominent forwards and represented India during the Asian Games in 2002, Asia Cup in 2004, Commonwealth Games in 2002 and 2006, and Junior World Cup in 2001. Saba even had been conferred with the Chhattisgarh’s top Gundadhur Sports Award for bring honour to her state in the field of sports.

Congratulating both of them, Dr. Narinder Dhruv Batra, President, Hockey India said, “Hockey India is delighted and proud of both Sardar Singh and Saba Anjum for being conferred with the Padma Shri Award today. Sardar has been contributing selflessly to the national team and Indian Hockey since he started playing for the country and under his leadership India won the Gold at the Asian Games last year. Hockey India also congratulates Saba being who was one of the most prominent forward players in the world of Hockey and seeing her play on the field. Hockey India takes pride in congratulating both of them on this auspicious day.”

A delighted and proud Captain Sardar Singh said, “It is a great honour for me and I would take this opportunity to thank Hockey India for giving me the support which boosted my morale. Also, I must give credit of my success to the coaches, who have guided me and tirelessly worked with me during my journey in hockey. I am proud to have been received this award and will work harder to get more laurels for Indian Hockey.”

A very delighted Saba Anjum said, “I am honoured to receive this prestigious award from the President of India. I take this opportunity to thank Hockey India and the Government of India for recognising my efforts and hard work. I would like to thank my Coaches, teammates and my family for my success and achievements in my journey.”

Sardar was appointed as the Captain of the Indian hockey team in 2008 for the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup at the age of 22 years where India finished 2nd in the tournament and bagged the Silver medal. In 2010, Sardar Singh was nominated for the FIH All-Star team being the sole Indian to get the honour and a feat that was repeated again in 2012. In 2014, Sardar led India to a Silver medal finish in the 2014 Commonwealth Games at Glasgow and in the same year, Sardar steered his team to win the Incheon Asian Games Gold beating Pakistan in a highly-tensed finale and this feat of winning the Gold was achieved by the Indian team after 16 years. In the same year the India Hockey Team even beat Australia in a Test Series at home and also finished at a respectable fourth position in the Hero Men’s Champions Trophy 2014.

In the 15 year long international career, Saba has to her credit of being a part of the team which won the bronze at 2006 Doha Asian Games. She is also known for striking six goals including the winning one in the final of Shastri Cup 2007 and went on to being the player of the tournament in the series.

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top