Breaking News

Indian Junior Men Hockey Team all set to depart for the 4th Sultan of Johor Cup 2014 today

Indian Junior Men Hockey Team Group pics (1) (1)
– India to play their opening match against New Zealand on 12 October 2014

New Delhi, 9 October 2014: Defending champions of the Sultan of Johor Cup, Indian Junior Men Hockey Team has now set its sights on the upcoming 4th Sultan of Johor Cup 2014 scheduled to take place in Johor Bahru, Malaysia from 12 October to 19 October 2014. The Indian Junior Men Hockey team is all set to depart from New Delhi tonight for Malaysia.

Riding high on their intense training sessions of the last few weeks, the Indian Junior Men team are geared-up to face the competition from across the world. In this prestigious Under-21 tournament teams including Australia, Great Britain, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and host Malaysia will compete for the top honour.

The India junior team, comprising of 18 members, will be led by Captain Harjeet Singh and will see the aggressive forward Imran Khan as Vice-Captain. Taking New Zealand head-on in their opening match on 12 October 2014, India will then be seen then taking on Great Britain on 13 October, followed by the another nail-biting match against Pakistan on 15 October 2014 and Australia on 18 October 2014.

Speaking on the preparations, Captain Harjeet Singh said, “We are a new team but we have the same old dream to retain the Sultan of Johor Cup with us. We have been practicing together as a single unit for the last few weeks and are very confident on achieving the goal. Our first match against New Zealand is crucial as starting a tournament on a winning note will boost the morale of the team and will help continue the winning dominance”.

Speaking on the team leaving for the tournament, Coach Harendra Singh said “The team is geared up for the 4th Sultan of Johor Cup and the boys are confident to retain the title. This is a new team and they have developed themselves as a single unit in the preparation camp. Without carrying any burden of previous achievements, we will focus on playing high-level and technically sound hockey”.

Schedule for 4th Sultan of Johor Cup 2014 –

       Date Local Time Indian Time                                  Match
12 Oct. 2014 18:05 15:35 India vs New Zealand
13 Oct. 2014 16:05 13:35 India vs Great Britain
15 Oct. 2014 18:05 15:35 India vs Pakistan
16 Oct. 2014 18:05 15:35 India vs Malaysia
18 Oct. 2014 16:05 13:35 India vs Australia

 List of Players-


1. Abhinav Kumar Pandey

2. Subodh Tirkey


3. Harmanpreet Singh

4. Jarmanpreet Singh

5. Dipsan Tirkey

6. Anand Lakra

7. Varun Kumar

8. Gurinder Singh


9. Santa Singh

10. Sumit

11. Harjeet Singh (Captain)

12. Nilkantha Sharma

13. Simranjeet Singh


14. Imran Khan (Vice-Captain)

15. Parvinder Singh

16. Pawan Kumar

17. Aarman Qureshi

18. Sumit Kumar

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top