Breaking News

Indian Men Hockey Team all set to depart for the 17th Asian Games 2014 today


– India to play their opening match against Sri Lanka on 21 September 2014

New Delhi, 11 September 2014: Post their Silver Medal finish in the recently concluded XX Commonwealth Games 2014 at Glasgow (Scotland), the Indian Men Hockey team now set their sights on the upcoming 17th Asian Games 2014 scheduled to take place in Incheon, South Korea from 19 September – 4 October 2014. The team is all set to depart from New Delhi today late night for South Korea.

Riding high on their splendid outing in the XX Commonwealth Games 2014, the Indian Men team were seen practicing even more rigorously to leave no stones unturned and strike gold at the Asian Games, to book their berth for the 2016 Rio Olympics.

The team comprising of 16 members will be led by Captain Sardar Singh (191 caps) and will see the acrobatic goal-keeper P R Sreejesh (106 caps) taking charge of the Vice-Captain’s responsibilities. Taking Sri Lanka head-on in their opening match on 21 September 2014, India will be seen taking on Oman on 23 September, followed by the most awaited match against Pakistan on 25 September 2014 and China on 27 September 2014.

Speaking on the preparations, Captain Sardar Singh said, “We are aiming for a clean sweep and with the confidence in the camp I feel that we will be able to achieve the goal. Our first match against Sri Lanka is crucial as starting a tournament on a winning note will boost the morale of the team and will help continue the winning dominance”.

Speaking on the team leaving for the Games, Chief Coach Terry Walsh said “The team is all pepped up for the Asian Games and the boys are confident of winning the Gold. With the same team like the Commonwealth Games 2014, the entire team is in sync with each others play and hoping to continue their seamless play yet again at Incheon”.

The 17th Asian Games will see a total of 10 teams divided into two groups. India is placed along with Pakistan, Oman, China and Sri Lanka in Pool B.

Schedule for 17th Asian Games 2014 (Men) –


Date LocalTime IndianTime Match
21st Sept. 2014 17:00 13:30 India Vs Sri Lanka
23rd Sept. 2014 17:00 13:30 India Vs Oman
25th Sept. 2014 17:00 13:30 India Vs Pakistan
27th Sept. 2014 17:00 13:30 India Vs China


List of Players-


1- P R Sreejesh (106 Caps) Vice-Captain


2- Gurbaj Singh (170 Caps)
3-  Birendra Lakra (77 Caps)
4-  Rupinder Pal Singh (95 Caps)
5-  Kothajit Singh (77 Caps)
6-  V R Raghunath (166 Caps)


7- Dharamvir Singh (81 Caps)
8-  Sardar Singh (191 Caps) Captain
9-  Danish Mujtaba (117 Caps)
10- Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (58 Caps)
11- Manpreet Singh (103 Caps)


12- Ramandeep Singh (17 Caps)
13- Akashdeep Singh (47 Caps)
14- S V Sunil (143 Caps)
15- Gurwinder Singh Chandi (103 Caps)
16- Nikkin Thimmaiah (17 Caps)

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top