Breaking News

Indian Women Hockey Team set to depart for 17th Asian Games 2014 today

– India to take on Thailand in their opening match on 22 September 2014

Indian Women Hockey Team Group Pic (2)

Indian Women Hockey Team Group Pic (2)

New Delhi, 13 September 2014: After an impressive performance in the recently concluded XX Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, the Indian Women Hockey Team is all prepared to take on another challenge in the upcoming 17th Asian Games 2014 at Incheon, South Korea from 19 September – 4 October 2014. The team is all set to depart today from New Delhi for South Korea.

As the Asian Games provides an important opportunity to qualify for the 2016 Rio Olympics, the team has been practising at NSNIS, Patiala and Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, New Delhi under the stewardship of Chief Coach, Neil Hawgood.  

The Women team, which will be led by captain Ritu Rani (184 caps), will also be benefited from the experienced players, such as Vice-Captain Deepika (131 caps), Rani (116 caps), Poonam Rani (118 caps), who have all played in the last edition of the Asian Games.

 The Indian eves will start their campaign with their opening match against Thailand on 22 September 2014 at 1:30 pm IST. The next clashes on the cards for the Indian women are against China on the 24 September and Malaysia on the 26 September 2014, both at 1:30 pm IST.

 Speaking on the preparations for the Asian Games, Chief Coach Mr. Neil Hawgood said, “The preparatory camp in Patiala and New Delhi has gone very well. We’ve had enough time to put in place strategies for each player. We looked closely at our key problems in converting penalty corners and we stressed on rectifying those areas. We are hopeful of doing well and winning gold at the Asian Games to qualify for 2016 Rio Olympics”.

 Speaking ahead of the Games, Captain Ritu Rani said, “We have worked hard on our shortcomings during a one month camp with our Chief Coach Neil Hawgood and Director High Performance, Roelent Oltmans. A few areas, especially in the area of penalty corners we have focus our efforts and have made improvements and are very confident on our strengths. We can reach the final of the Asian Games and confident that the Gold medal is in our reach.”

 The Asian Games will see a total of 8 teams divided into two groups. India is placed along with China, Malaysia and Thailand in Pool A.

 Schedule for Commonwealth Games (Women) – 

Date LocalTime IndianTime Match
22 Sept. 2014 17:00 13:30 Thailand Vs India
24 Sept. 2014 17:00 13:30 China Vs India
26 Sept. 2014 17:00 13:30 Malaysia Vs India

 List of Selected Players-


1 – Savita (84 Caps)


2 –  Deep Grace Ekka (62 Caps)

3 –  Deepika (131 Caps) Vice-Captain

4 –  Sunita Lakra (30 Caps)

5 –  Namita Toppo (51 Caps)

6 –  Jaspreet Kaur (62 Caps)

7 –  Sushila Chanu (76 caps)

8 –  Monika (12 Caps)


9 –   Ritu Rani (184 Caps) Captain

10 – Lilima Minz (33 Caps)

11 – Amandeep Kaur (9 Caps)

12 – Chanchan Devi Thokchom (105 caps) 


13 – Rani (116 Caps)

14 – Poonam Rani (118 caps)

15 – Vandana Katariya (104 Caps)

16 – Navjot Kaur (27 Caps)

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top