Breaking News

Manipur assembly election results: Congress likely to retain power; BJP makes major inroads

The Congress has won 27 seats in the 60-member assembly in Manipur and has emerged as the single largest party in the State. While the BJP has won only 22 seats, it is being considered a good performance by BJP since the party was virtually non-existent in the state prior to the elections in 2017. However, no party has been able to secure the target of 31, which is required to form the government in Manipur.

Experts say that the Congress needs just 4 seats, so it is in a better position to hold discussions with other minor parties and independents regarding their support to form the government in Manipur. However, BJP may also carry out similar discussions, especially with the Naga Peoples’ Front (NPF) that has won 4 seats. The NPF would like to see a non-Congress government in Manipur, something that might work in favor of BJP. A candidate from Trinamool Congress (TMC) has also won a seat, so he too might come into play in the race to form the government in Manipur.

The final tally for Manipur is as follows:

  • Congress – 27
  • BJP – 22
  • Left Front – 1
  • Others – 10

Meanwhile, it was poor show by activist Irom Sharmila, who had contested against the current Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh in Thoubal. She got only 90 votes, something that has disheartened her greatly. Sharmila said that she has decided to quit politics. “People did not accept me for who I am, I am fed up of politics, will retire in an ashram for a while,” she said.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top