Breaking News

Palaniswami forms government in Tamil Nadu; takes oath as CM

After several days of uncertainty and chaos in Tamil Nadu politics, a government is finally in place, led by Edappadi K Palaniswami, who was sworn in today as the Chief Minister (CM) of Tamil Nadu by Governor C Vidyasagar Rao. Palaniswami is the 13th Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. The swearing in ceremony was held today at around 4:30 PM at Raj Bhavan. After Palaniswami was sworn in as the CM, 30 more ministers of his government took oath. This is now the third ministry to be formed in the last 10 months since the time the assembly elections were won by AIADMK in May 2016.

No sooner had Palaniswami taken oath as CM, the security cover for O Panneerselvam was withdrawn. The CM’s emblem and beacon on Panneerselvam’s car were also removed, which signifies that the tide has turned against him.

Palaniswami has kept several portfolios including home, finance, public, police, PWD, highways and minor ports, and personal and administrative reforms. The cabinet has only one new face, party presidium chairman K A Sengottaiyan, who has replaced K Pandiarajan. Pandiarajan had joined Panneerselvam camp after differences broke out between Sasikala and Panneerselvam. Remaining ministers have retained their respective portfolios that they had held earlier.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top