Breaking News

Punjab Elections: Re-polling in 48 polling stations, says EC

The Election Commission (EC) has announced today that re-polling will be done in 48 polling stations across Punjab. These polling stations fall under the Majitha, Muktsar and Sangrur assembly seats. Re-polling will be done at 12 polling stations in Majitha, one in Moga, nine in Muktsar, four in Sardulgarh and six in Sangrur. Re-polling will also be held at 16 polling stations for the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat. EC said that the re-polling will be held on February 9.

The primary reason for re-polling is the reported malfunctioning of VVPATs (Voter verifiable Paper Audit Trail) and EVMs at these polling stations. A total of 24,697 Ballot Units (BUs) and 24,256 Control Units (CUs) were deployed in Punjab elections. Out of these, 180 BUs and 184 CUs developed a snag during the polls.

Political parties have been asked to spread awareness about the re-polling, as some voters may not be aware of this development. However, not everyone is ready to accept the theory of malfunctioning voting machines. After the EC announced the re-polling, AAP national convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal took to social media and posted a tweet that read, “Never has any election seen malfunctioning EVMs on such a large scale. Was it mischief done deliberately by or in collusion with EC?”

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top