Breaking News

Ram Nath Kovind is 14th President of India; gets 65.65% votes

NDA Presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind has won the elections and is all set to become the 14th President of India. Kovind has won with a significant margin, grabbing 65.65 percent of the votes from the Electoral College. In comparison to Kovind, Congress-led Opposition’s candidate Meira Kumar could only secure 34.35 percent votes. Speaking about the Presidential election results, returning officer for the 2017 Presidential election Anoop Mishra said, “Kovind secured 2930 votes with a value of 7,02,044. Meira Kumar got 1,844 votes with the value of 3,67,314, and 77 votes were invalid.” Soon after the results were announced, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Kovind on his phenomenal success.

“Gladdened by the extensive support for Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji among MPs & across various states,” PM Modi tweeted. He also talked about his long-term association with Kovind. PM Modi also took time to appreciate the democratic values espoused by opposition candidate Meira Kumar. “I also congratulate @meira_kumar Ji for her campaign, which was in spirit of the democratic ethos & values we all are proud of,” PM Modi tweeted. Kovind’s win was expected since the beginning since he had the support of around 40 political parties, many of whom were even outside the NDA. Some of the non-NDA parties that supported Kovind included AIADMK, JD(U), the Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party, the Biju Janata Dal, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi and the Indian National Lok Dal.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top