Breaking News

Shurhozelie Liezietsu sworn in as Nagaland CM

After several days of protests and violence, Nagaland is on its way back to normalcy, as Nagaland Peoples’ Front (NPF) president Shurhozelie Liezietsu has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Nagaland. As he took charge of the CM’s post on Wednesday, he became the 11th chief minister of Nagaland. At a function organized at the Kohima Raj Bhawan, Liezietsu took oath of office and secrecy from Governor PB Acharya. Liezietsu’s appointment as CM of Nagaland came after former CM TR Zeliang resigned on Sunday. Zeliang had to resign because protestors were not happy with his decision to allow municipal elections with 33% reservation for women. It may be recalled that there were widespread protests in the State with activists demanding his resignation.

The new CM of Nagaland will lead the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) government, in which the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is a partner. During his swearing in ceremony, other people were also appointed including eleven ministers, 26 parliamentary secretaries and 6 advisors. An important thing to note about Liezietsu’s appointment as CM is that he is not a member of the Nagaland assembly. This means that he will have to get himself elected from a constituency within the next six months. Political pundits say that he will most probably contest from Northern Angami-1 seat, which he had vacated in 2013 for his eldest son Khriehu.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top