Breaking News

Shurhozelie sacks 10 MLAs, as political crisis worsens in Nagaland

The political crisis gripping the ruling Naga People’s Front (NPF) government in Nagaland has worsened after Chief Minister Shurhozelie Liezietsu sacked 10 of his parliamentary secretaries. These rebel MLAs were among the group that was demanding the removal of Chief Minister Shurhozelie Liezietsu. This comes a day after former Chief Minister T.R. Zeliang had approached Governor P.B. Acharya and staked claim to form a new government. Zeliang said that he had the support of 33 NPF legislators and seven Independent legislators.

Soon after there were demands for his removal, Liezietsu, who is also the chief of NPF, ordered the termination of four NPF legislators and six Independent legislators, who were functioning as parliamentary secretaries. Notifications were issued by Nagaland government terminating the appointment of Mr. Zeliang as Advisor (Finance) and Mr. Nuklotoshi as Advisor to Chief Minister. During a meeting of the NPF Disciplinary Action Committee, it was also decided to suspend 10 legislators as primary and active members of the party.

Those suspended include Home Minister Yanthungo Patton, Power Minister Kipili Sangtam, National Highway and Political Affairs Minister G. Kaito Aye, Forest and Environment Minister Imkong L. Imchen, besides, Shetoyi, Nuklutoshi, Deo Nukhu, Naiba Konyak, Benjongliba and Mr. Zeliang.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top