Breaking News



Kathyayini Chamaraj, Executive Trustee of CIVIC awarded the Namma Bengalurean of the Year 2014;

NIMHANS for Government Organization Category, Sean Blagsvedt for Foreign Resident in Bengaluru, B T Lakshman for Non-Resident Bengalurean 


Bangalore, Saturday, March 14, 2015: Traditional art forms like Dollukunita and Veeragase set the stage for the evening of the prestigious Namma Bengaluru Awards (NBA) for 2014 held at the Chandragupta Maurya Grounds (Shalini Grounds) in 5th Block Jayanagar today. The sixth edition of the Namma Bengaluru Awards paid tribute to the spirit of service and commitment of citizens, who are determined to stand up and fight vested interests to determine the future of the our city. After all, it is Our City, Our Voice, Our Future.

The sixth edition of the Namma Bengaluru Awards, an initiative to recognize and honor extraordinary work towards development of the city, had a shortlist of 70 finalists from the 76,250 nominations received.  An initiative of the Namma Bengaluru Foundation (NBF), the Namma Bengaluru Awards are aimed at recognizing selfless contributions by Bengalureans who have contributed immensely to the growth of our city and has been recognized by people and the media for its unique concept and become a benchmark for applauding the selfless efforts of ordinary citizens.

Standing true to the motto to celebrate the people who made a difference to Bengaluru, the awards night was a large and extravagant public event. This year saw Sandalwood Star Ravichandran grace the occasion and honor the Achievers of the prestigious awards. Popular Music Director Arjun Janya enthralled the crowd with some of his latest foot taping numbers which added to the celebrations of the great cause of Bengalureans paying tribute to the heroes in the city.

This Year’s Namma Bengalurean Award was conferred upon Kathyayini Chamaraj, Executive Trustee of CIVICBangalore, a freelance journalist who has been writing for over 23 years on development issues. She has worked extensively with the Government of Karnataka on child labour and primary education and is involved with several organizations and social movements, especially the Right to Food and Work Campaign, and has been a great asset to the development of our city, Bengaluru.

Shri Balegowda for Govt. Individual Category, Shri P G Bhat for Citizen Individual Category, Surendran Murugananda Krishnan & Shubhendu Sharma for Citizen Youth Category, LabourNet for Social Entrepreneur Category, Akshara Foundation for NGO Category, Whitefield Rising for RWA/CBO Category, CK Ramamurthy for Elected Representative Category, Canara Bank for CSR Category, NIMHANS for Govt. Organization, Sean Blagsvedt for Foreign Resident in Bengaluru, B T Lakshman for Non-Resident Bengalurean, Prajavani for Media Organization Category and Vijayalakshmi Shibaroor for Media Individual Category were other winners for their respective categories.

Congratulating all the 70 finalists who were shortlisted for this year’s Namma Bengaluru Awards, Mr. Sridhar Pabbisetty, CEO of Namma Bengaluru Foundation said, “Over the last 5 years, there has been an overwhelming response from Bengalureans for the Namma Bengaluru Awards. We have scaled from 4,000 nominations in the year 2009 to 71, 000 nominations last year, which only emphasizes the willingness and excitement of the citizens to recognize outstanding work. These awards are a tribute to the spirit of service and commitment to the city that is alive and vibrant in the citizens, who are also determined to stand up or fight vested interests and claim their space in the fight to determine the future of our city. Awards for 2014 will be in its sixth year of celebrating and acknowledging the Real Heroes in Bengaluru“, he concluded.

A Jury of 23 members consisting of eminent personalities like Pradeep Kar –Founder Chairman & Managing Director of Microland, Dr Gautham Machaiah – Media and corporate professional, Justice Santosh Hegde, Kannada Poet and Writer Prof. G S Siddalingaiah, V Ravichandar – Chairman of Feedback Consulting, Brand Ambassador of the Namma Bengaluru Awards 2014 -Thara Anooradha, TV Serial Director T. N. Seetharam, BRACE Secretary -NS Mukunda, Veteran Journalist HS Balarama to name a few, have shortlisted the finalists of the Awards under 13 categories.

“I congratulate the winners, all the finalists and indeed all the nominees and thank them for their service and contributions Bengaluru. They are the real heroes of our city. I hope Namma Bengaluru Awards will motivate citizens of Bengaluru to recognize and express their gratitude to individuals, organizations and public offices for their selfless work and contribution to the city and the winners to scale up their good deeds and their services are available to many more” said Mr. Rajeev Chandrashekar (MP) who initiated the Namma Bengaluru Awards in 2009.

The Namma Bengaluru Awards was instituted to recognize and reward people and organizations – the ‘Real Heroes’ of Bengaluru and these awards are the city’s way of saying ‘Thank You’ to these Real Heroes of the city; it is an effort to celebrate the people who really make a difference to the city we all call home” was the message he sent to communicate to Bengalureans in his absence

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top