Breaking News

Understanding the Four Elements of Astrology


The idea that Astrological signs are connected to various constellations has led to a lot of confusion amongst philosophers and Vedic scholars. Fundamentally, a zodiac sign is nothing but a mathematical measure of a group of cosmic bodies. Thus, each sign has its own characteristic qualities associated with a distinct element. The elements have a significant influence on one’s personality, behavior, appearance, and social status.

Traditionally, there are four primary elements that have been mentioned in Horoscope and  Astrology. These are Air, Earth, Fire, and Water. Each element has a distinct quality to it which can translate into all sorts of human behavioral tendencies that we observe in people around us.

These four elements constitute the twelve zodiac signs, each with a unique set of traits and features. Therefore to understand Astrology, one must first learn about these elements and their significance. Here, in this article, we have tried to envelop every essential piece of information that you need to know in order to get a grasp on the concept of Astrology and Horoscope. Take a look:

Elements and personality

The four basic elements mentioned above represent fundamental principles of life like behavior, financial prowess, romantic quotient, etc. Of course, each individual is different but these elements provide a generalized idea as to how an ascendant belonging to, say fire element, would turn out. Keeping this in mind, listed below are the personality traits based on these elements:

  • Air

Similar to the element itself, natives who belong to Air, are free-flowing, expressive, quick-witted and thrill seekers. They are known to be spontaneous and very peculiar with their choices. Intellectually gifted and born with a strong will. Libra, Gemini, and Aquarius are air signs.

  • Earth

Earthy people are extremely calm. They don’t believe in reacting upfront, like to keep it low profile, and have tremendous levels of endurance. They hate change and value emotions over any other aspect. They have a unique perspective on everything but try to keep it reserved for particular situations. Virgo, Capricorn, and Taurus are Earth signs.

  • Fire

People born with the element of Fire are unpredictable. They can do anything out of impulse. Fire signs believe in taking everything to the limit and work with unmatchable dedication come what may. They are very much self-obsessed and know how to get a yes from others. Sagittarius, Aries, and Leo belong to the Fire element.

  • Water

People with an influence of water element are quite touchy-feely. They are borderline sensitive and have great innovative skills. They often hide their emotions from people around them mainly because they don’t feel much comfortable expressing themselves socially. Scorpio, Pisces, and Cancer are water signs.

Based on displacement of planets, these elements can be further categorized into three basic divisions, Cardinal, fixed, and variable or mutable.

Cardinal: These are basically the profound signs in the horoscope and lay a heavy emphasis on stability. They lead from the front and believe in moving forward. Capricorn, Libra, Cancer, and Aries fall under this category.

Fixed: Fixed signs look forward to tapping into the resources that are already there and make the best out of it. These ascendants are very organized and value efficiency more than anything. They don’t wait for the things to happen and make their own way. Scorpio, Taurus, Aquarius, and Leo are fixed signs.

Variable: People with a strong influence of mutable signs often seek change and promote renewal. They are emotionally deep rooted and don’t get manipulated too easily. They take pride in their actions and have a strong self-belief. Variable signs represent contemporary ideas and innovative approach. Virgo, Pisces, Gemini, and Sagittarius are known to be variable signs.

Elements not only determine one’s personality but assert a great influence over compatibility between two individuals. How two elements react with each other is a key factor in finding a suitable partner for an individual. So elements are way more complex and significant than you think.

These four elements basically form the foundation of Astrology. Be it Daily Horoscope or finding your personality traits or your compatibility with others, these elements play a highly significant role. The entire science of Astrology revolves around these principles.

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top