Breaking News

Uttar Pradesh Polls 2017, Phase 1 LIVE: A Test For BJP

The largest state of India, in terms of seats in the parliament (both the upper and lower house) Uttar Pradesh (UP) is witnessing the start of election today. The phase one polling is being held in 73 assembly constituencies in Western Uttar Pradesh today.
The election commission has decided that the election should be held in seven phases and today, in the first phase total 73 seats will be decided. The election is a big test for PM Modi, Akhilesh Yadav, Mayawati and Rahul Gandhi.
UP Election Phase I
The UP election can also be termed as the semi-final before the 2019 national elections. BJP is planning to win the election on the issues of demonetisation and nationalism whereas other parties are planning to capitalize on the negatives of demonetization and cast votes.
In western UP, the Jat are angry at BJP as they were not able to get the reservation in government jobs which was promised when BJP won 2014 elections from the region.
Here are the major developments related to Phase I of the UP assembly elections:
  • The BSP, BJP, and SP-Congress alliance will face a tough challenge in the western UP, the land of Jats. The Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) is also hoping to gain its lost Jat votes.
  • The BJP has projected no name for the chief ministerial (CM) post whereas Akhilesh and Mayawati are other CM candidates for the UP elections.
  • Muslim votes are the key to win the UP assembly elections and the split in the voters have been quite visible in the community. With Mayawati winning the support from Shahi Imam and Akhilesh offering sops for the community, the BJP seems to have missed out.
  • In today’s first phase of the UP elections, first time contestants Mriganka Singh (Kairana seat) and Pankaj Singh (Noida seat) will be tracked closely.
  • During 2012 assembly elections, the BJP won 11, Congress won 5, BSP and SP won 24 seats each, RLD won 9 out of 73 seats that are being voted today.
  • The UP assembly has 403 seats, the seven phases of elections are being held four days apart from each times. The counting of the votes will be done on March 11.

About Team | NewsPatrolling

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top