Breaking News


Over 900 guests celebrated the winners and finalists of the 2020 AHA-Aon Hospitality Awards for Excellence last night, hosted at the White Claw Gala Ball at Crown Perth.

AHA(WA) CEO Bradley Woods said the gala ball was the largest gathering of hospitality professionals in Australia for 2020, with a record number of nominations demonstrating the strength of WA’s hospitality industry, despite navigating the most challenging year on record.

“We saw an unprecedented level of interest in the Awards for Excellence this year and the quality of the nominations was outstanding,” Mr Woods said.

“WA’s hotels, pubs, bars, restaurants and taverns have shown incredible resolve, despite dealing with the turbulence created by COVID-19, including a mandatory shutdown, border closures and a range of trading restrictions.”

“Last night was a symbolic night for WA’s hospitality industry – to have nearly 1,000 people celebrating the best venues and staff across the state is a reflection of what we have accomplished in WA.”

Last night’s award categories included WA’s Best Regional Hospitality Venue won by Boston Brewing Co. Denmark, Perth’s Best Hospitality Venue won by joint winners The Old Synagogue and The Royal Hotel, Group Venue Operator Award, awarded to Kailis Hospitality Group and Sneakers & Jeans and Bar Team Award, won by Lot20.

The Hospitality Industry Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to longstanding industry figure, Mr Bruce Strickland.

The complete list of winners can be found below.




Community Service Award

Settlers Tavern, Margaret River

Training Initiative Award (Joint winners)

Pan Pacific, Perth

Varsity Group

Retail Bottleshop Award

The Gate Bar & Bistro

Aon Responsible Service of Alcohol Award

Crown Perth

Draught Beer Quality Award

The Shoe Bar & Café, Perth

The Lion Beer Australia Bar Presentation and Service Award

Whitfords Brewing Co (Hall of Fame)

Small Bar Award

Varnish On King, Perth

Cocktail Bar Award

Tiki As FK, Northbridge

Late Night Venue Award

Nevermind Smallclub, Northbridge

Tourism Initiative Award

Blanche Bar, Karratha

Conference and Functions Award

The Ritz-Carlton, Perth

Outdoor Area Award (Joint winners)

Swings & Roundabouts, Yallingup

The Marina Mindarie

Boutique Brewery Award


Redeveloped Venue Award

The Kingsley Tavern

New Venue Award   

The Old Synagogue, Fremantle

Social Media Activity Award

Sneakers & Jeans Group


Contemporary Bar Menu Award

The Beach House, Eden Beach

Casual Pub Dining Award – Metropolitan

C.Y.O’Connor Village Pub, Piara Waters

Casual Pub Dining Award – Regional

The Peninsula Bar & Restaurant, Mandurah

Highly Commended: Black Brewing Co, Wilyabrup

Family Dining Award

Kailis Fish Market Café, Fremantle

Boston Brewing Co, Denmark

Restaurant Award (Joint winners)

Fleur – The Royal Hotel, Perth

Il Lido Italian Canteen, Cottesloe (Hall of Fame)

Wine List Award

Il Lido Italian Canteen, Cottesloe

Highly Commended: The Heritage Wine Bar, Perth


TAB Hotel/PubTAB Venue Award

Rambla Bar & Bistro, Wickham

Sporting Entertainment Venue Award (Joint winners)

Sports Bar – Crown Perth, Burswood (Hall of Fame)

Varsity Bar Joondalup (Hall of Fame)

Live Entertainment Venue Award

Badlands Bar, Perth

Highly Commended: Whalebone Brewing Company, Exmouth

Themed Venue Award

Palace Arcade


Rising Star Award

Elysha Ayers, The Marina Mindarie

Highly Commended: Ciaran D’Monte –Doyle, The Westin Perth

Cookery Services Employee Award

Jade Jones, The Flour Factory

Highly Commended: Deborah Coslett, Crown Perth – Merrywell

Head Chef Award (Joint winners)

Matthew Sartori, Wild Flower – State Buildings

Matthew Carulei, The Heritage Wine Bar

Highly Commended: Xerxes Bodhanwala, Pan Pacific, Perth

Highly Commended: Arron Coates, The Kwinana Local

Food and Beverage Services Employee Award

Rebecca Licastro, Rambla Bar & Bistro

Front Office and Administration Employee Award (Joint winners)

Hong Thu Phan-Nguyen, Crown Perth Offices

Sharon Schaafsma, Settlers Tavern

PubTAB Operator Award

Tracey Tylor, Beeches Tavern

Cocktail Bartender Award

Bjorn Karason, Tiki As FK

Highly Commended: Craig Slater, Fiorita Wine Bar & Restaurant

Excellence in Service Award (Joint winners)

Nick Trolio, The Gate Bar & Bistro

Philomena Ellis, Duxton Hotel, Perth

Highly Commended: Wayne Hammond, Fiorita Wine Bar & Restuarant Karratha

Venue Manager Award (Joint winners)

Troy Landers, Balmoral Hotel

Stephen Hollow, The Ritz-Carlton, Perth

Highly Commended: Tony Favazzo, Perth Racing, Ascot

Highly Commended: Jason Juraszek, Universal Bar, Perth

Bar Team Award


Highly Commended: Caballitos, Perth


Group Venue Operator Award (Joint winners)

Kailis Hospitality Group

Sneakers & Jeans

WA’s Best Regional Hospitality Venue

Boston Brewing co. Denmark

Perth’s Best Hospitality Venue (Joint winners)

The Old Synagogue

The Royal Hotel

Hospitality Industry Lifetime Achievement Award

Bruce Strickland

About Admin


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top