Breaking News

Yash Bharti Awards given by Akhilesh Yadav regime to be reviewed by Yogi Government

Targeting the decisions taken by the earlier Akhilesh Yadav regime, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has directed government officials to review the Yash Bharti awards that were given to various personalities from varied fields. It may be recalled that the Yash Bharti awards were instituted in 1994. At that time, Mulayam Singh Yadav was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and the awards were given to honor eminent personalities from the state. The award comprised a one-time cash component of Rs 11 lakh and Rs 50,000 as monthly lifetime pension. The awards were continued during the period when Akhilesh Yadav was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

The review of the Yash Bharti awards has been ordered by current Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath since there have been allegations that the awards were given away arbitrarily, often favoring people who were close to the Samajwadi Party in UP. Explaining his decision to review the awards, Yogi Adityanath said, “What was the basis for selecting awardees? Appropriate action will be taken after the review. The dignity of the awards should be maintained. Honoring undeserving people lowers the dignity of the awards.” Some of the famous personalities who have received the Yash Bharti awards in the past include Harivansh Rai Bachchan, Bashir Badar, Shubha Mudgal, Rekha Bhardwaj, Anop Jalota, Kailash Kher, Bhuwaneshwar Kumar, and Jimmy Shergil.

About Satya Singh

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top